FO: Visions of Sugar Plum … House Elves?

Four months, four pairs of socks.  I’m still on track to complete 12 pairs of socks in 12 months.  After the complex cables of my Staked Socks these were a nice shift with the subtle patterning and interesting color shifts.

 

They did turn out a bit small, I think for a 64in sock I need to be using a 2.75mm needle more often than not.  I find that all the different Merino Nylon sock base from my fave Cdn dyers seem to be pretty similar so I’m not surprised that I use similar needles for all of them.

So I have cast on for my next pair, I will be doing lace which is again a nice change from the plain, cables and texture of the last three months of socks.

– Details –

Project Name: Visions of Sugar Plum … House Elves?

Pattern: Hermione’s Everyday Socks by Erica Lueder from Dreams in Fiber

Recipient: Me

Yarn: Fleece Artist Trail Socks in Sugar Plums

Modifications: None

New Skills:

  • Different Gusset Pick-up: I was reading the new Simply Sockupied eMag and Ann Budd had a cool technique using an extra DPN to twist the picked up gusset stitches, which for me resulted in a bit of extra work but a really attractive “seam” with no gaps.
  • TAAT Magic Loop on a 32″ needle: I didn’t have a longer one and I tried to do Two Socks on Two Circs and it made me want to cry so I figured out how to do two socks to 1 circ. It has inspired me to get 40″ circs to do my TAAT socks as 47″ is a bit too long feeling now.

Feedback:

  • Yarn: I am quite impressed with how Fleece Artist does a multi, while it did swirl around the leg both socks striped identically and the slipped stitch heel looks really amazing.  My aversion to multis is being reduced thanks to this yarn.
  • Pattern: Nice, clear, simple and free.  My only issue is the author doesn’t tell you how long the toe is at gauge.  Although the shape is really nice and now that I know how it works I may use it again in future.

Re-Knit?: Nope, although I may steal the toe for a default top-down pair of franken-socks (ie. my default sock made of parts of all sorts of different patterns).  There are way too many socks out there to make the same pair twice.

5 thoughts on “FO: Visions of Sugar Plum … House Elves?

  1. That’s a lovely color way. I’m knitting a pair of the Hermione socks right now 🙂

    And I’m going to go check out that gusset pickup technique right now.

  2. Pingback: FO: Purple People Warmer | Green Bean's String Factory

Comments are closed.