On Charity and Giving

Hopefully all these things can find new, loving homes.

So, I am an unrepentant selfish knitter.  A majority if what I make is for me, and after my fall of commission knitting, everything else I knit is something I want to make for someone else. I just don’t enjoy knitting to deadlines and thankfully I have a decent job so I don’t have to turn my hobby into a job for financial reasons.

I thought I liked using felted bags ...

While I know much of knitting is done by groups for charitable purposes, and most of the time I see things like knitting non-superwash socks for homeless men, nothing if not ill-advised.  I have worked for non-profts, most prefer cash or time to in-kind donations of knitted items.

I have gauge issues, hopefully these will make great kid shawls or doll blankets.

However, after several years of knitting I have acquired a box of knitting that doesn’t fit, or suit me or anyone I know.  I have decided to donate these items to a local charity shop that sells somewhat exclusively to women and families in our local shelters and in need of good, low cost clothing.

Hats of all shapes and mostly small sizes, again, stupid gauge issues.

I hope that these items find there way to people who they will suit and will love them, because I enjoyed making each item, from the baby blanket I made back in Austin to the very cute white owl mittens that I knit before I truly understood about gauge, to the ridiculously fluffy pink scarf I knew I would never wear.

These are mostly just not to my taste ... but they should loved by someone else.

While I doubt that I will knit intentionally for charitable organizations, (I would rather earn money and give cash to my favorite causes), I will continue to stockpile and donate knitted items that were always meant for someone else, even if I just wore it for a while.

