On The One, The Many and Projects

I admit it, I really don’t do well working on multiple projects at once.

This didn't work for me ... I had to prioritize one project after another in order to get them done.

As much as I like to think that I am capable of juggling all sorts of projects at once, I really am a one (or maybe two)-at-a-time girl.  Case in point was the trio of projects I was working on for the past few months, the Stardust Neckwarmer, the Groovy Big Kid Socks and the First Crochet Blanket.

Although started last, I finished the socks first, mostly because they excited me the most.

With these three projects, I didn’t feel liberated by the options of different projects, but rather frustrated because I never seemed to make any head way on any of them.  I know often times people have many different projects for different conditions, like socks for your purse, a challenging weekend knit.  For me, I don’t find I don’t do much sneak knitting.  It’s not that I don’t like knitting in public, I just can’t be bothered to pull something out knit a bit and then put it away.  I’m also not one to knit at restaurants, movies or concerts, so I  have no need for a purse project.

I managed the finish the cowl second, mostly because I needed to get it done, it had been a WIP for more than 2 months.

For the past few weeks I have been alternating between projects, spending a week crocheting or a week knitting socks.

While I do currently have two projects on the go, by Double Helix Socks and my Crochet Blanket, I am currently reorganizing my queue to make sure I have a nice mix of projects so I can stay on track and not overwhelm myself with so many different projects at once.

My Queue, as of July 29th.

One thought on “On The One, The Many and Projects

  1. Pingback: On Tools and Kits « Green Bean's String Factory

Comments are closed.