FO: Stardust Neckwarmer

Soft, squishy, and such a pretty blue.

This yarn has been burning a hole in my stash since I frogged the Stardust Mittens back in January.  It is so soft, and the color so subtle and blue (a color that I frequently over look in favor of green).

The stitch pattern was easy to remember but still engaging.

This spring when I started doing trail pass checks twice a week I knew I needed a pattern that was in the round, easily memorized and not too elaborate to work on at the trailhead, and I found the Twisted Rib Neckwarmer.  The pattern seemed designed for the yarn and so I set off.  After two months of working on it, I felt the need to finish it, mostly because as much as I like to think I can have many, many projects on the go at once, I really am a serial monogamist when it comes to projects.  I finished it a while back, but I didn’t have the time or inclination to block it, and then I kept forgetting to get pictures.

So here it is, finally, the Stardust Neckwarmer, slightly out of season, but just so very, very soft.

The yarn has squish and the pattern has drape, so the two worked well together.

Project Name: Stardust Neckwarmer

Pattern: Twisted Rib Neckwarmer by Michelle Johnston of Lush Yarn

Recipient: Me, me, me

Yarn: Handmaiden Bess in Stardust (80% Superwash Merino, 20% Cashmere)

Modifications:

  • Used a slightly larger needle and didn’t gauge swatch so I presume that it is larger than gauge.

New Skills:

Feedback: Nice pattern, nice yarn, however I hated the bind off.  It was tedious and unattractive.  That said, I do want to figure out a way to match cast on and bind off and retain stretchiness.

Re-Knit?: Not likely, it was a nice pattern, but there are many more types of cowls out there in the world.

3 thoughts on “FO: Stardust Neckwarmer

  1. Nice! I Love the HandMaiden yarns. I used the SilkMaiden to do a drop-stitch stole and the drape was WOW. You’ve spurred me on to try their other yarn choices. It’s nice when you come upon a yarn that drapes and feels and looks awesome no matter what pattern you use.

    • It is a beautiful yarn, and, it is on sale/clearance at EatSleepKnit if you ever wanted to give it a try.

      I have some SeaSilk that I have had for almost a year and I can’t decide what to do with it, it is just so much fun to pet, I can’t wait to knit it.

  2. Pingback: On The One, The Many and Projects « Green Bean's String Factory

Comments are closed.