FO: Groovy Big Kid Socks

I heart my socks

So, the story of my Groovy Big Kid Socks is one that starts with a grey day in early April when I received a magical package, it was the March installment of the Tanis Fiber Arts Year in Fiber Club.  Inside was a magnificent green yarn and an inspired pattern for socks, Marching On by Glenna C. I was inspired and after years of thinking sock knitting was stupid I decided I wanted to make socks.  I had to place an order with KnitPicks for some supplies to finish my Oak Ridges Moraine Bag and the 2011 Felici had been released.  I decided to get some sport because I thought it would be easier to make my first pair of socks with slightly larger yarn and, as such, slightly larger needles.

Socks just hanging out on the bannister outside my room.

So I picked out the ever popular Jaywalker and set forth.  And then the first sock was too big, and the yarn was going to run out before I finished the toe, so I frogged and restarted with this 2-at-a-time pattern.

I am quite pleased with myself and my socks.  They are a bit too large (too much ease), however I am wearing them with pride, despite the fact that it is middle of summer here in Ontario and I wear sandals all the time.

I haven’t decided on the pattern for my next pair of socks, but don’t you worry, there will be a next time.

Look at those great stripes

Project Name: Groovy Big Kid Socks

Pattern: Kid Stuff by Melissa Morgan-Oakes in Toe-up 2-at-a-time Socks

Recipient: Me, me, me

Yarn: KnitPicks Felici Sport in Groovy (Felici are limited edition so this one is from 2011)

Modifications:

  • Increased my needle size to get a larger gauge, which allowed me to make the socks which were designed for a 7″ foot to fit on my 8.5″ foot.
  • Used the small sized leg ribbing and continued till I was out of yarn, about 5″.

New Skills:

  • Making Socks
  • Making 2-at-a-time socks
  • Making Toe Up socks
  • Making a foot gusset
  • Turning a heel

Feedback: LOVE!  The pattern was relatively clear (and all the instruction at the start of the book is very helpful).  While it was a very plain sock, it shows off the striping well.  The yarn was fun to knit, however in order to get matching stripes I had to cut almost 3g off one ball and then halfway through the sock on had an extra long stripe which meant that one sock switched colors more than 2 round soon meaning that the stripes don’t match at the cuffs.  However, for the cost, Felici is unbeatable it is fun, unique, soft, machine washable and dryable.

Re-Knit?: Very likely.  Much like mittens, I can see this technique, toe-up, 2-at-a-time being a go-to for me.  I like using Judy’s Magic Cast On and being able to get a stretchy enough bind off with Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind Off.

The Felici has a nice fuzzy halo and is so very soft after going through the washer and dryer.

9 thoughts on “FO: Groovy Big Kid Socks

    • Thanks, I think one compliments another. Ever since I switched to picking, rather than throwing, my stitches have been much, much more consistant.

    • Sheer force of will. What I did was I picked a simple project, in my case a farrow rib scarf I made out of Malabrigo Worsted. I only permitted myself to use continental style, when I would get frustrated I would put it away and knit something else. Eventually between wanting to get it done and improving my knitting ability I was able to finish the scarf.

      As far as the continental purl, I started out by doing the Norwegian purl (http://youtu.be/0DkwcejowiI). Then I got frustrated with the amount of time it took so I finally figured out how to manipulate my fingers to make it work in traditional continental fashion.

      However, if I am stressed out (something isn’t going right) or I am doing something really complicated I will switch back to throwing, also if I am faced with the back side of a lace shawl I will often times just do the who row throwing because it is still easier, although with practice I am preferring picking.

      No matter what it is all about practice, and not letting yourself too frustrated.

  1. Thanks for the link – it was immensely helpful! I actually had some Malabrigo worsted as well and went to town on a simple pattern for practice. I am ever so slow and often go at the picking from the wrong direction, but you are right! It seems that the movements are less effort, more poetry in very slow motion lol.

  2. Nice! I agree that fitting socks is touchy business. I made some for my mom that seemed too small for me so I thought they’d be fine for her, but they were too big. They probably fit me better than I had thought. The ones I made with the funny swirl construction with that yarn you gave me sprung a hole where they were too tight over the bridge of my foot. Arg. I embarked on a pair of toe-up-two-at-a-time socks yesterday with some Koigu KPPPM. At some point I’ll create a page for them on Ravelry. I LOVE the yarn, so I am really nervous about them working out well.

    • Thanks Jamie!

      Skew is certainly on my list of sock to try, watching you make those was very inspiring. Koigu is very cool (my sister had some that she tried to knit in University that I inherited) and it is a Canadian (Ontario) yarn.

  3. Pingback: On The One, The Many and Projects « Green Bean's String Factory

  4. Pingback: FO: Double Helix Socks « Green Bean's String Factory

Comments are closed.