FO: Oxblood Tam

This hat, which I finished over a week ago, took me a while to blog because it went straight off of the blocking board (and plate) onto my head.  I have been wanting to make this hat, and its matching mittens ever since I finished my Hawthorne Scarf this fall.  The Snapdragon Set (the hat and mittens) use a similar leaf/pod design (with a 5 into 1 stitch) to the Hawthorne and both look fantastic in madelinetosh Tosh DK.  I am so in love with the madtosh look I currently have two more WIPs that are in their yarns (different bases than the Tosh DK, and they are fantastic as well).

The Truest Representation of the Color

Project Name:  Oxblood Tam

Pattern: Snapdragon Tam by Ysolda Teague

Recipient: Me

Yarn: Tosh DK by madelinetosh in Oxblood

Modifications:

  • After reading about how large and floppy the hat could be, I decided to knit the Medium size and because of my consistently tight knitting I knitted the rib brim at the suggested needle size and then went up one needle size (to a US 7) to knit the rest of the hat.

New Skills:

  • None – But it was my first tam, which is a hat style which seems to flatter me so I will probably be making more tams.

Feedback:  As with all Ysolda patterns, this one was clear. attractive and makes a beautiful finished object. The cables are attractive and the chart was easy to follow, I didn’t ever feel the need to refer to the written directions but they looked clear and in large enough print. The sizing was a bit funny and I have found that the band stretched out quite quickly.  If I were to make this hat again, I would go down a few more needle sizes for the band to make it tighter without having to edit the stitch pattern, because the ribbing flows beautifully into the cable pattern.

Re-Knit?: It will probably be re-knit to replace if this one were to get lost or destroyed.

A bit out of focus (sorry) but too cute to not post

