FO: Christmas Lace Triangle Shawl

 

Nothing like a shock of red on a snowy morning

This project was started out of my finger’s need to make lace. After making so many mittens and hats during the fall, I wanted to make something beautiful and a bit frivolous.  I actually used the suggested yarn for this project, but I still went up a needle size due to my overwhelmingly tight knitting.

 

I love the flower motif in the center

 

One person's shawl is another bear's blanket

 

Details

Project Name: Christmas Lace Triangle Shawl

Pattern: Chalice Triangle Shawl by Mary White, part of the Knit Picks Independent Designer Program

Recipient: Not sure, I will probably wear it, but it may end up in “The Box”

Yarn: Knit Picks Gloss Lace (70% merino, 30% silk) in Fiesta

Modifications:

  • None – I thought about making it larger than the pattern suggests, however I decided it was time to move on.

New Skills:

  • Crochet bind off – I had avoided using it on my Haruni shawl, however having a full set of Boye Crochet Hooks make the process far more enjoyable and had a nice effect.
  • Circular shawl making – Not so much a skill as a new “thing”.  I quite like the lack of purling.

Feedback: It was nice to get back to lace work (my first lace shawl since summer), I really quite enjoy making them, however I have yet to figure out how to wear a lace shawl.  Also, I found the charts somewhat less than intuitive and the decision to use (sl 1 k1 psso) rather than a (ssk) somewhat annoying.  If I were to remake it, I would probably use a ssk instead, mostly because I like it more.

Re-Knit?:  Probably not, however, I might use some of the construction techniques to make something of my own design.

Up close you can see how the silk makes the yarn really shiny.

2 thoughts on “FO: Christmas Lace Triangle Shawl

  1. Pingback: On July and Checking In « Green Bean's String Factory

  2. Pingback: On 2011 and Goals « Green Bean's String Factory

Comments are closed.