Felting 101 and Project Pictures

This morning I had the great fortune to take Felting 101 with Gail and the good folks at the Gateway Fibreworks in Gravenhurst, Ontario.

For those of you not familiar with the Gateway Fiberworks, it is a small scale mill and retail outlet.  They primarily focus on alpaca and works with lots of small farmers across the province.  They are a great outfit who operate out of a green building in a Muskoka.

While I think I will be quitting my day job, or even knitting and spinning to be a felter, but it was great to learn about an interesting technique to make embellishments and another way to use up my increasingly large fiber stash.

Here were a few of the things I made during the course:

I chose the colors to honor my love of Sour Patch Kids

It is shaped like a sting-ray, much like my first dishcloth.

It was supposed to be a duck, but there was no yellow. I call it Ryan, because it is a Gosling.

An iris made of "Canadian Merino" ie. not merino.

Since I got my camera out to take pictures of my felting, I decided to get pictures of a few other projects. I didn’t manage to nab one of my Carla’s Mittens because she always has them on her hands or stashed away in her purse.  However I did get a few beauty shots of my Norway Spruce, using the Hawthorne pattern by Susanna IC in the Fall 2010 Twist Collective.

Autumn in Parry Sound, made greener by Madelinetosh DK.

Up close and beautiful, both the yarn and the pattern.

Also, I am sending them off tomorrow so here are the cousin hats!

Hanging out for the last stage of "blocking".

I love the way the colors work together.

I am hoping to get a picture of all four of them wearing their hats.  It was tough making a hat that would fit anyone of them (well the red one is for a four-year-old so it is sized differently) but the other three are for guys of very different head sizes and I wasn’t sure which one each of them was getting.

So, there is your photo overload for the weekend, I hope you enjoyed them.

