Testing … 1, 2, 3

So for the two weeks I have had only one thing on the needles, a shawl, Reverb by Melisa McCurley. This was a test knit, which means I was a guinea pig, but it was such a beautiful,  asymmetrical shawl which is likely to go back in my queue at some point to be made out of a solid or tonal sock yarn.

Here are some of its beauty shots.

Up against the wall

Yes, it is fall on Georgian Bay

Full details on the project can be found on its Ravelry project page (which is viewable even if you don’t have an account).  It had a hard deadline of being blocked and photographed by October 6th, and so it was tough this week because I had so much fun stuff show up in the mail.

Fluff

This past week was exciting because I received a few boxes, including my Phat Fiber box, with all kinds of fiber-y goodness.  For those who are unfamiliar with Phat Fiber, it is a big box of fiber, either fluff, spun yarns or a mix of both that is a collection of samples from independent spinner and dyers around the world.  Each artist sends 50 sample to the Phat Fiber Lady (who is totally awesome) in Illinois who packages up a one of a kind box and then sells them through Etsy.

These boxes are released monthly (usually mid-month) and are based around a theme.  The September box was “Farmer’s Market” and my samples included all sorts of goodies that had names and colors like “Farmer’s Overalls” by , “Bok Choy” by , “Black Beauty Eggplant” by .  It was my first box, so I got a Mixed Box, however, if I were to win another box I would likely get just a fluff box.

Stitches

Getting a box is very competitive as quantities are limited and you need to be sitting at your computer at the right time in order to get one, and have everything ready to go with Etsy and Paypal. If you are interested in getting one, it is best if you sign up for the email notification of sales.

Not only to you get fiber, you also get goodies like stitch markers, patterns, and coupons. The patterns this month are not to my exact taste, however they are really pretty and I may find myself pulling them out in future months.

Goodies

I also got my box of Merino Top from CraftyQsPlace, a Phattie (ie. a Phat Fiber Contributor).  I plan on spinning it on my new spindle, which I will reveal when it arrives next week.

However, the fiber which I got on sale (which is always awesome), is absolutely gorgeous. Some of the colorways were from her Phat Fiber box contribution and other were just great color.

The last thing that came this week, again while my hands were tied up in Reverb, was from Eat.Sleep.Knit. This box was filled with wonderful kettle and hand dyed yarns from larger operations like Malabrigo, Lorna’s Laces, Madelinetosh, Dream of Color, Sweet Georgian and Squoosh Fiber Arts.  Some of them already have assigned project, other are still to be decided but I added another 5km of yarn to my stash.  Not a good thing, particularly when you have made a promise not to touch the new stuff till you finished your current WIP.

Also, I don’t know if I mentioned this, but I got a box from Knit Picks more than a week ago.  Mostly books, they had a great book sale going on, but I am on a bit of a sock yarn kick.  I like that it is thin, but has lots of spring and resilience (and nylon).  I also picked up some more needle felting supplies and spinning fiber.  Now I just need to start doing my own dying because it seems like lots of artistic fun.

